James is the inventor of the remote skylight, which delivers sunlight below ground using a system of optics. In 2004, Ramsey opened design practice RAAD, and they have since built over a hundred projects, both in NYC and across the country.

Dan leads community engagement, political outreach, fundraising, and strategic planning for the world???s first underground park. His former roles have included strategic roles at Google, PopTech, and within New York City government.

Robyn oversees many of the Lowline???s core activities, from community engagement to strategic projects. Her prior experience includes marketing and operations roles at Ralph Lauren, Saatchi & Saatchi, and SelectNY as well as urban farming at Eagle Street Rooftop Farm.

Courtney supports the Lowline???s community outreach efforts, event production, advocacy, and development. She has worked for a range of cultural institutions in programming, community engagement, and development, including the Whitney Museum, the Baryshnikov Arts Center, BAM, and Arts for Art.

Justin supervises and manages all Lowline Lab based operations. He currently works with NYC DOT’s Pedestrian Project Group with focus on crosswalk improvements throughout the five boroughs, and is a Lower East Side native.

Ed develops and executes innovative solar technologies for the Lowline. The former head of design at a motorcycle company, Confederate Motors, Jacobs is currently focusing on DNI, a utilitarian design-based company.

Sangyun is an award-winning architect/manager at RAAD.

Jaeyual is an architect at RAAD. He oversees design of the Lowline, ranging from sunlight path simulation to spatial and landscape design of the Lowline.

Kibum is a partner at RAAD and responsible for the striking Lowline renderings. He has worked on and led a number of projects in Korea and China, ranging from single residential up to a commercial building.


The Education Committee is composed of a selected group of STEM professionals who have extensive experience in the field of STEAM and education. The Education Committee members advise the program in a variety of capacities that serve to enhance the program???s curriculum, operations and overall execution.

Julio Badel ??? Henry Street Settlement
Kristian Breton ??? New York Academy of Sciences
Isa Del Bello ??? Brooklyn Bridge Park
Scott Conti ??? New Design High School
Mikey Cordero ??? Urban Arts Partnership
Marc Lesser ??? MOUSE
Shantelena Mouzon ??? Young Designer Parent
Anthony Negron ??? New York Hall of Science
Sarah Pidgeon ??? Solar One
Armando Somoza ??? Urban Arts Partnership
Julia Vallera ??? The Hive


Sunny Bates
Dave Bolotsky
Huy Bui
James Capalino
Wellington Chen
Scott Conti
Craig Covil
Joshua David
Lena Dunham
Megan Ellison
Vincent Fong
Vikram Gandhi
Robert Hammond
Jan Hanvik
Jeremy Heimans
Mo Koyfman
Marc Kushner
Steven Lau
Tim Laughlin
Scot Medbury
Bentley Meeker
J.B. Miller
Mark Mini
Shantelena Mouzon
Jon Neidich
Craig Newmark
Benjamin Palmer
Miriam Parker
Kenny Scharf
Jamie Springer
Louisa St. Pierre
Michael Tumminia
Morris Vogel
Lorne Whitehead
Thomas Yu